Type: Presidential system (republic transitioning from military to civilian rule)
Capital: Abuja (on 12 December 1991 the capital was officially transferred from Lagos to Abuja; most federal government offices have now made the move to Abuja)
Administrative Divisions: 36 states and one capital territory*; Abia, Abuja Federal Capital Territory*, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nassarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara
Constitution: Current constitution is the one adopted May 1999, which introduced a western decentralised form of government.
Legal System: Based on English common law, Islamic Sharia law (in some northern states), and indigenous traditional laws
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal
Executive Branch:
. Headed by President (Head-of-State and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces): President Muhammadu Buhari  (since 29 May 2005); can serve a maximum of two four-year terms
. Cabinet: Federal Executive Council
. Elections: President is elected by popular vote for no more than two four-year terms; election last held 19 April 2015 (next to be held 2019)
Legislative Branch: Bicameral National Assembly
. Senate: (109 seats, three from each state and one from the Federal Capital Territory; members elected by popular vote to serve a maximum of two four-year terms)
. House of Representatives: (360 seats, members elected by popular vote to serve a maximum two four-year terms)
. Elections: Senate – last held 12 April 2015 (next to be held 2019); House of Representatives – last held 12 April 2015 (next to be held 2019)
Judicial Branch:
. Supreme Court (judges appointed by the President)
. Federal Court of Appeal (judges are appointed by the Federal Government on the advice of the Advisory Judicial Committee)


Muhammadu Buhari


Professor Yemi Osinbanjo

Vice President